TEXAS LIONS FOUNDATION

HISTORY AND GROWTH

The idea of a Foundation owned by and for the benefit of the Lions of Texas was the foresight of PID Edwin H. Flood of Amarillo. Lion Ed was successful in selling the idea to the 1983-84 Council of Governors. This Council of Governors approved the Articles of Incorporation and the Texas Lions ratified it at their 1984 State Convention.

A preliminary meeting of the Foundation was held in Kerrville the first weekend of August, 1984. The first organizational meeting of the Foundation was held in San Antonio on November 3, 1984 where the Constitution and By-Laws were adopted and PID Ed Flood was elected the first Chairman. Ed Flood carried the Articles of Incorporation to Austin and the Articles were approved by the Secretary of State on December 4, 1984. The Constitution and By-Laws were ratified by the Texas Lions at their 1985 State Convention.

On December 31, 1984, the Foundation showed a bank balance of \$16,006.24 with \$6,304.50 in Accounts Receivable and \$1,221.60 in Accounts Payable. At the end of approximately one year of operation, the net worth of the Foundation was in excess of \$21,000.00. All of this money was derived from the sale of Lions Mints.

The mints were bought from F & F Laboratories in Chicago. They are specially prepared and packaged for the Lions of Texas and purchased at a cost of 9 1/2 cents per roll. The mints were sold to the districts for a profit to the Foundation of 2 1/2 cents per roll. This 2 1/2 cents per roll remains in the Foundation Trust Fund and will continue to benefit Lions projects.

From the sale of mints continues to grow and as of this date an amount in excess of \$150,000 has been placed in the Trust Fund. The Foundation is structured so that only interest from the Trust Fund can be used for grants. The Constitution and By-Laws specifically state how this money can be spent. It states the Trust Fund Corpus may not be spent for any purpose. Only the interest Funds of the Foundation may be expended by the Board for grants by the Foundation for the following reasons:

1. To promote any charitable activities sponsored by the Lions of Texas.

- 2. To Support the Texas Lions Camp.
- 3. To Support any Lions International program.
- 4. To help defray costs of any designated disaster.

It further states that the disbursement of Foundation funds in the amount of Two Thousand Dollars (\$2,000.00) or less shall require a two-thirds (2/3) vote of the Executive Committee or a majority vote of the Board of Trustees present and voting; disbursement of Foundation funds in excess of Two Thousand Dollars (\$2,000.00) shall be made only on approval by a two-thirds (2/3) vote of the Board of Trustees present and voting at such meeting.

To date the Foundation has made several grants including fourteen during the Lion year 1998-1999 Application for a grant can be made to the Foundation in writing stating the purpose and benefit of the grant requested. As much detail as possible should be given in the application so that the Trustees can make an intelligent decision. The total amount presently in the Trust Fund Corpus is approximately nine hundred and sixty thousand dollars (\$960,000). Therefore, approximately forty-five thousand dollars (\$45,000) will be available each year for grants and operation of the Foundation. Application forms are available and should be submitted to the District Governor, Trustee, PID Edwin Flood, or PCC Jack Harris, who are listed in each District Directory.

For the first four years of its organization, the Foundation did not actively solicit any donations from Lions or other individuals. In 1988 the Foundation established several award categories that has helped entice individuals and clubs to contribute money to the Foundation.

PREVIOUS CHAIRPERSONS

FOUNDATION CHAIRMEN

YEAR	CHAIRMAN	DISTRICT
1983-1984	PID Edwin H. Flood	District 2-T1
1984-1985	PID Edwin H. Flood	District 2-T1
1985-1986	PDG Gerald Devault	District 2-T2
1986-1987	PDG Joe Parish	District 2-T3
1987-1988	PDG Jim Jones	District 2-T2
1988-1989	PDG Pat Waddle	District 2-E2
1989-1990	PDG Mark Anderson	District 2-S5
1990-1991	PDG Mark Anderson	District 2-S5
1991-1992	PDG Vernon Carmichael	District 2-S2
1992-1993	PDG Duane Howell	District 2-T2
1993-1994	PCC Jack A. Harris	District 2-E2
1994-1995	PCC Jack A. Harris	District 2-E2
1995-1996	PDG Julius Yellott	District 2-S2
1996-1997	PDG Jack Wise	District 2-S3
1997-1998	PCC Tut Tawwater	District 2-T2
1998-1999	PDG David "Ike" Boling	District 2-A3
1999-2000	PDG Oscar W. Cook	District 2-A1
2000-2001	PDG Felix Myers	District 2-S5
2001-Nov. 2001	PDG Felix Myers	District 2-S5
Nov. 2001-2002	PCC Irvin D. Hiler	District 2-E1
2002-2003	PDG Gid Terry	District 2-X2
2003-2004	PDG Gid Terry	District 2-X2
2004-2005	PDG John Kimbrough	District 2-A2

2005-2006	PDG John Kimbrough	District 2-A2
2006-2007	PDG Bernie Gradel, Jr.	District 2-T2
2007-2008	PDG Bernie Gradel, Jr.	District 2-T2
2008-2009	PDG Virgil A. Polocek	District 2-A1
2009-2010	PDG Marcella Henke	District 2-S4